Dreams

A week and a half ago, I was in conferences all day for work via Teams. Each of the four speakers had an interesting topic to help us reflection on our work and life practices. By the end of the day, I was getting tired, but the last speaker caught my interest. This was the Olympic gold medalist Bruny Surin. His message was about how our mindset is essential to achieve our goals and our dreams, like running faster than one’s idol.

Mr Surin spoke about a coach that he had and how this man impacted his life when he shared the following phrase: The me I see is the me I’ll be. This simple sentence is profound. I wrote it immediately, as I didn’t want to forget it. It’s true, when I see myself in a negative way, I make more mistakes and I don’t take care of myself. When I’m in a positive headspace, I make better choices for myself and the people around me. This quote is a reminder to see the goal that I want for myself and to work at it like I’m already there. Bruny Surin did this even when many people laughed at him. He found the courage to reach for the stars and to keep working at it. He succeeded.

Bruny Surin asked us to think about our dreams. At first, I thought that it was my health. It made sense. However, the more that Mr Surin spoke, I realized that I was setting myself short, that it was easy to say it. As I came to see that my true dream is to love myself as God loves me. If I truly love myself, I will take better care of my health and I will enjoy life more. It isn’t easy for me to share this dream, but as Bruny Surin told us last week, we need to share our dreams with people to help us stay on track. That is why I wanted to share with you my deepest goal: to love myself as God loves me.

Leave a comment